Posted in Musings, Rhymed Pieces

Your oversized t-shirt girl.

I am your oversized t-shirt girl

A dress looks pretty and so does curls

Yet I’d tie my hair into a messy bun

Eat those calories turn by turn

I run to what you’ve got to hide

You’d find me chasing the sky tonight

There are stars, galaxies and then, lamer stuff

I mumble words to whatever turns up

I am your brother in an all men gang

I’d sneak in and out to ladies rant

I know of no shades to pink and hues

I ditch the paparazzi for monday blues.

Shopping bags are not my spree

Diamonds don’t set me free

I’d laze in my room over a cricket match

Go cycle the words to ditch a gossip clan.

No. I am not the tomboy you think I am.

I dream as much as you think you can.

There’s rock, there’s jazz, and a friday pop

I sing, I fail and then dance it off.

I’d be a radio if you’re tuned in right

No not your muse but a lady in plight!

There are books and verses you’ll never read

No not your find but a dreamer I plead.

I’m your oversized t-shirt girl

A dress looks pretty and so does curls.

You smile to the endless twists and turns

A lady to your rescue, would you dare to love?

P.S. This is me summarized for you in a poem. I celebrate what lies within me today! I’d love to hear your story too.

Thank you for reading.

Never let the words fall short! 🙂

Author:

Also she is a crazy dancer, an ardent cricket fan and a radio FM if hit upon with the same wavelength. :)

62 thoughts on “Your oversized t-shirt girl.

  1. I so enjoyed that – it’s always nice to get a little glimpse into a writer’s soul through their work. Nicely done!!! I can see from Wikipedia that In Indian culture, Ojha is the name given to the profession of an exorcist or a spirit healer. Is that any indication of your namesake?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey there!
      Thank you very much. I’m glad you enjoyed the little glimpse here. Also, Ojha is my surname. I can’t believe you googled that for me. In Indian culture, this surname is for people like you describe. My first name is Sweta and it stands for white and chastity.
      Nice to meet you. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Please do not think I was stalking you lol – I was curious of how to pronounce your name and came across the reference to its meaning. But anyway – Nice to meet you as well 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I admire your writing! And I love that kind of poems… Its also nice to learn to know you like that 😀 I have also a kind of poem about myself. But maybe you read it sometime later if you want to 🙂 Now I still have another poem to write 😉 And yes a dare to love…!! 🙂
    Warm regards, Heidi

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well penned. Quite exceptional.
    But are the guys given their space ? Like we want the society to accept girls the way the are and yes that is what needs to be done but then why do the guys need to get buffed up , bearded and why is their height a criteria of providing interest. No offences meant but give it a thought.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Shivam.
      Thank you. Well, I do understand your concern and I agree that judgements are on both sides. Reason why we need to speak out for every individual no matter a girl or a guy. I write this poem on my own behalf to celebrate who I am and I firmly believe one must do the same for themeselves.
      Also, I personally do not prefer buffed up, bearded guys.. so maybe it’s just all about preferences everywhere. I may not be liked by many and some may appreciate me. That’s how the world works. While what others demand must be none of your concern, what you are should always rank highest. Even if minority includes sensible people and you find one, it’s a win for you. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

